Thursday, July 19, 2007

A form of gun control coming to NC

HB 1287, "The Gun Buyer Registration Act," is in the Senate Judiciary II committee. A hearing was scheduled for Thursday morning but was pulled from the calendar at the last minute. It is expected to return early next week.

A little refresher on the basics of HB 1287:

IF PASSED, HB 1287 WOULD:

* REGISTER anyone who is denied a pistol purchase permit by his sheriff into a DATABASE with the State Bureau of Investigation.

* Keep the denial in the SBI database for 8 YEARS.

* Require the denial to appear in all subsequent records checks.

SHERIFFS HAVE BROAD LATITUDE IN DENYING PERMITS:

Unlike concealed handgun permits, which are "sheriff shall issue,"
sheriffs have broad latitude in denying pistol purchase permits.
Reasons for which sheriffs may deny permits under G.S. 14-404--beyond
finding a criminal background-can include something as simple as
having applied for more purchase permits than they decide you need,
or even arbitrarily deciding you are not of "good moral character."

REGISTRATION COULD BE *PERMANENT*

Although HB 1287 requires the SBI to expunge data after 8 years, the
bill contains **NO PROTECTIONS ABOUT WHERE THE DATA MAY BE SENT.**
Translation: If you are denied a permit for not being of "good moral
character," the denial could be sent to the FBI, BATFE, local law
enforcement or others who have NO OBLIGATION TO EXPUNGE THE
DATA...EVER!!!

In the 2005 session of the NC General Assembly, your
overwhelming input was crucial in killing a bill GRNC dubbed "The Gun
Buyer Registration Act." As is so often the case with gun control
bills, however, the bill has risen from the dead this year as HB
1287, sponsored by the usual suspects: Reps. RONNIE SUTTON
(D-Robeson, GRNC 1-star), PRICEY HARRISON (D-Guilford, GRNC 0-star),
MAGGIE JEFFUS (D-Guilford, 0-star) and VERLA INSKO (D-Orange,
0-star).

Ironically, although the bill is entitled "Report Denial of Some
Pistol Permits," it actually registers ALL denials, even for the
arbitrary reasons described.

Here are the committee members working on this bill and their contact emails.

Chairman Sen. Fletcher Hartsell (R4) (919) 733-7223
Fletcherh@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Sen. Austin Allran (R4) (919) 733-5876
Austina@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Sen. Doug Berger (D0) (919) 715-8363 Dougb@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Sen. Ed Jones (D) (919) 715-3032 Edwardj@ncleg.net

Sen. Tom Apodaca (R4) (919) 733-5745 Toma@ncleg.net

Sen. Bob Atwater (D0) (919) 715-3036 Boba@ncleg.net

Sen. Stan Bingham (R4) (919) 733-5665 Stanb@ncleg.net

Sen. Walter Dalton (D0) (919) 715-3038 Walterd@ncleg.net

Sen. Charlie Dannelly (D0) (919) 733-5955 Charlied@ncleg.net

Sen. Katie Dorsett (D0) (919) 715-3042 Katied@ncleg.net

Sen. Don East (R4) (919) 733-5743 Done@ncleg.net

Sen. Eddie Goodall (R4) (919) 733-7659 Eddieg@ncleg.net

Sen. Jim Jacumin (R3) (919) 715-7823 Jimja@ncleg.net

Sen. John Kerr (D2) (919) 733-5621 Johnk@ncleg.net

Sen. Joe Sam Queen (D4) (919) 733-3460 JoeQ@ncleg.net

Sen. John Snow (D4) (919) 733-5875 Johns@ncleg.net

Sen. A. B. Swindell (D0) (919) 715-3030 Abs@ncleg.net

I have dropped them each a note. Won't you do the same? Protect your rights. Let yourselves be heard.

1 comment:

The Buck said...

It is OBVIOUS that the Gun Grabbers are using INCREMENTALISM to gradually disarm the public to the point of confiscation.